Skip to content

Secretary of States’ Office

Faces & Places of Washington State: The Office of the Secretary of State was established with the adoption of the Washington State Constitution in 1889. The Secretary of State is elected every four years and is second in the line of succession to the Office of the Governor. There have been 15 Secretaries of State since Statehood. The Secretary of State is the state’s chief elections officer, chief corporations’ officer, and supervisor of the State Archives.