Skip to content

Legislature holds memorial service for lawmakers who have died

The Legislature held a joint session Wednesday for its biennial ceremony honoring lawmakers who have died in the past two years.

Among the 27 people honored were former Gov. Booth Gardner; former representatives Kip Tokuda and Tom Huff, Sen. Michael J. Carrell, who died during the 2013 legislative session; and Rep. Roger Freeman, who was re-elected posthumously last year to his seat in the House.

[slideshow_deploy id=22324]


The lawmakers honored were:

Member District Chamber
Arthur “Art” Avey 2nd House
Ida Ballasiotes 41st House
Duane L. Berentson 40th House
Jean L. Berkey 38th House & Senate
Alan Bluechel 1st & 45th House & Senate
Ted Bottiger 2nd, 28th & 29th House & Senate
Michael Carrell 28th House & Senate
John Erak Jr 19th House
Phyllis Erickson 2nd House
Roger Freeman 30th House
Wm. Booth Gardner 26th Senate & Governor
Robert F. Goldsworthy 9th House
Wilbur G. “Web” Hallauer 1st Senate
Tom Huff 26th House
John David Jones 48th House & Senate
John Martinis 38th House
Mary Ellen McCaffree 32nd House
Don Moos 8th House
Richard Morphis 7th House
John A. Moyer 3rd & 6th House & Senate
Andrew Nisbet 24th House
Val Ogden 49th House
Margaret Rayburn 15th House
Kip Tokuda 37th House
Brian J. Sullivan 29th House
Larry Vognild 38th Senate
Chester “Al” Williams 32nd House & Senate


Video of the ceremony is in TVW’s archives.